Sook-Yin Lee & Adam Litovitz "jooj two" LP (2021)
Sook-Yin Lee & Adam Litovitz "jooj two" LP (2021)
Mint Records

Sook-Yin Lee & Adam Litovitz "jooj two" LP (2021)

Precio habitual $23.00 $0.00 Precio unitario por

Details: Released in April 2021, Sook-Yin Lee & Adam Litoviz' album, 'jooj two,' was released on Mint Records in Canada. This is a new (sealed) copy on black vinyl (mint). Import.

Description: "An iconic Canadian media figure, Sook-Yin Lee is an award-winning filmmaker, musician, actor, visual artist and broadcaster who has immersed herself in myriad creative collaborations. Many of them were made with her life partner and frequent co-creator Adam Litovitz, including their 2015 ethereal electroacoustic album jooj. Though Adam passed away in 2019, his work with Sook-Yin lives on with jooj two, an unapologetic dive into playful art-pop and a document of a lost language between lovers. The album will arrive on April 9 via Mint Records." - Mint Records

"Litovitz's playful, curious spirit lives on in jooj two's experimentalism. Thick, gritty electronics rule the queasily seductive grind of "Narcolept, Falling." The humid electronica of "Ship It Out" rises to a feverish dub drill. On "Lake Girls," Lee's multilayered vocals over plucked guitar notes and springy, cuckoo-like percussion create a cartoonish realm in the most wide-eyed and wondrous way. "There is time for sight to bend / Into a new ornament," she sings, suggesting that time will heal all wounds, or at least reduce the pain of losing her partner; the gift that was Lee and Litovitz's relationship will shine anew in hindsight." - Leslie Ken Chu, Exclaim!

Grade: M (new stock, sealed)


A1. Introductory Escape
A2. Wrecking Heart
A3. Run Away With Her
A4. Re-Veil
A5. Rumble Like A Stranger
A6. Ship It Out


B1. Delicate Tracks
B2. Lake Girls
B3. Thorns In The Laws Of Attraction
B4. Narcolept, Falling
B5. Adam