Telemarket “Ad Nauseam” LP (2023)
Cloud Recordings

Telemarket “Ad Nauseam” LP (2023)

Prix régulier $21.99 $0.00 Prix unitaire par

Details: Telemarket “Ad Nauseam” LP (2023, ). New stock, sealed.

Description: "Athens, Georgia’s Telemarket emerges with force and finesse on its debut full length, Ad Nauseam, due out August 25th on Elephant 6 label affiliate Cloud Recordings. The record by turns navigates loops of existential quandary, heartache, and hilarity in a world gone awry. Running at 34 minutes and 34 seconds, this thirteen track odyssey discovers itself through bouts of exuberant feedback and snappy hooks, and ultimately finds resolution surrounded by good friends in its musical home of Athens. Among these friends is John Fernandes of Cloud Recordings, a former member of projects Olivia Tremor Control and Circulatory System and longtime Elephant 6 collaborator, who teamed up with Telemarket to release and distribute the group’s LP. Fernandes is now a member of the group, playing clarinet alongside the 5 piece band. Ad Nauseam features artwork from late Georgia artist Patrick Dean, to whom the record is dedicated. Dean’s piece ‘Welcome to Athens, Y’all’ was featured on Athens GA publication Flagpole’s cover in August of 1999, and now adjourns the Telemarket cover reflecting the themes of repetition, redundancy, and relief.

Telemarket provides a distorted vessel for the shape-shifting songcraft of songwriter and vocalist/guitarist Adam Wayton, and features collaborations with many of his talented Athens friends. Wayton together with guitarist and engineer Will Wise hunkered down in their Odd Street home studio for much of 2021-2022—a piece of time many would just as soon forget—and managed to create something memorable together in Ad Nauseam. The concept album features tracks that were live tracked with the full band, as well as others built from scratch by Wayton and Wise. Vocalist/keyboardist Josie Callahan, bassist Hunter Pinkston (who Wayton plays alongside in New West Signed - The Pink Stones), and percussionist Jack Colclough round out the group’s personnel, bringing counterpoint and consummation to the bands work.

Grade: M (new stock)


01. Ad Nauseam
02. Who Was In My Room Last Night?
03. How's About Now
04. In The Morning
05. Lies That We Tell Ourselves
06. Anything To You
07. Under The Sun
08. The Way That Things Are
09. Please! Don't Leave Me (Alone)
10. Hanged Man
11. Through My Head
12. Big Bend
13. Abscess (Makes The Heart Grow Fonder)