Textones "Midnight Mission" LP (1984)
Textones "Midnight Mission" LP (1984)
Textones "Midnight Mission" LP (1984)
Textones "Midnight Mission" LP (1984)
Textones "Midnight Mission" LP (1984)
A&M Records

Textones "Midnight Mission" LP (1984)

Prix régulier $3.00 $0.00 Prix unitaire par

Details: The Textones debut 1984 album, Midnight Mission, released on A&M Records. Side 1 skips in spots on final three tracks. The only mark on the record is across these three tracks. Promo gold stamp on back of cover, some edge and corner wear. Would grade VG+ except for the issue listed. This is a  great early LA-scene album with power-pop, pub-rock, and Americana undertones featuring talented players as well as lead singer and guitarist Carla Olson.

Description: Taking the early ’80s L.A. club scene by storm, The Textones released an EP in the U.K. and a single in the U.S. But it was after singer/guitarist Carla Olson added guitarist George Callins, multi-instrumentalist Tom Junior Morgan, bassist Joe Read, and former Dwight Twilley Band member Phil Seymour on drums to the line-up that the magic truly happened.

Signing to Danny Goldberg’s Gold Mountain label, The Textones’ debut album, Midnight Mission, encompassed everything they’d done, and took it a step further. Produced by Barry Goldberg and Brad Gilderman, and featuring contributions from Gene Clark and Ry Cooder, Midnight Mission was a mix of rock, blues and country that captured the band’s live energy. After Olson appeared in Bob Dylan’s “Sweeheart Like You” video, he offered up an unreleased track, “Clean Cut Kid,” which blended perfectly with the band’s originals.

Grade: VG+ (Cover) / VG (Record)


A1. Standing In The Line
A2. Hands Of The Working Man
A3. No Love In You
A4. Running
A5. Number One Is To Survive


B1. Midnight Mission
B2. Upset Me
B3. Luck Don't Last Forever
B4. Clean Cut Kid
B5. See The Light