Eleanor Friedberger "Last Summer" LP (2011)
Eleanor Friedberger "Last Summer" LP (2011)
Eleanor Friedberger "Last Summer" LP (2011)
Merge Records

Eleanor Friedberger "Last Summer" LP (2011)

Prix régulier $23.00 $0.00 Prix unitaire par

Details: Debut solo album of Fiery Furnaces' Eleanor Friedberger. "Last Summer," released on Merge Records in 2011 on black vinyl.

Description: "Who is Eleanor FriedbergerFriedberger is previously known for her work in Chicago power-pop harmonie-musik The Fiery Furnaces, a band she created with her brother Matthew at the turn of the millennium. They’re too modest to mention that they’ve won a number of awards, sold out happenings the world over, and made nine albums, most recently Take Me Round Again, a collection of cover songs from their previous album. That experience, combined with the fact that The Fiery Furnaces aren’t breaking up, inspired her to make her first solo record, Last Summer, last summer.

In the music, you will hear the casual confrontation of the most emotionally direct Fiery Furnaces songs, plus a lot of snap, crackle, and pop. In fact, in these songs made of memories, you will hear the future. Sparks, Donovan, Procol Harum, Kath Bloom, Lô Borges and Todd Rundgren too. Friedberger’s phrasing is as good as anyone’s; even better, when the line’s over and most other singers would leave it right there, she’ll throw in an unnecessary extra syllable—a “yuh” or an “er,” even an “oh oh.” It’s like she hates silence. “Eleanor Friedberger’s music improves on silence”: there’s your headline.

With Last Summer, Eleanor Friedberger may well be telling us about last summer, or various last summers, or even—WATCH OUT!—the last summer there will ever be. . . One thing is certain: she’s playing a long game."--Merge

Grade: M (new stock)


A1. My Mistakes
A2. Inn Of The Seventh Ray
A3. Heaven
A4. Scenes From Bensonhurst
A5. Roosevelt Island


B1. Glitter Gold Year
B2. One-Month Marathon
B3. I Won't Fall Apart On You Tonight
B4. Owl's Head Park
B5. Early Earthquake