Bow Wow Wow "I Want Candy" LP (1982)
Bow Wow Wow "I Want Candy" LP (1982)
Bow Wow Wow "I Want Candy" LP (1982)
Bow Wow Wow "I Want Candy" LP (1982)
Bow Wow Wow "I Want Candy" LP (1982)
RCA/Victor Records

Bow Wow Wow "I Want Candy" LP (1982)

Prix régulier $15.00 $0.00 Prix unitaire par

Details: Indianapolis press of Bow Wow Wow LP "I Want Candy" released on Victor in 1982. Fantastic LP! Definite wear on cover (cut promo copy--slit in top right), some bending and shelf/corner wear. Scuffs visible on Side A (plays through). See images for cover.

Description: "Bow Wow Wow may have been easily dismissed by some as rock entrepreneur Malcolm McLaren’s cynical creation, but the band deserved better. Combining musicians lured away from Adam and the Ants (with whom McLaren had briefly worked) with 15-year-old singer Annabella Lwin, the ever-provocative McLaren formed the band, launching their career via a 45, “C-30, C-60, C-90 Go,” which espoused the virtues of home taping at a time when the band’s record company (and virtually all others) were beginning to frantically oppose it. True to McLaren’s precepts (although it should be noted that tapes at that time were not as commonly copied as discs), Your Cassette Pet is a tape-only collection of eight songs. Except for “I Want My Baby on Mars” and a painful rendition of “Fools Rush In,” the material is marked by Annabella’s breathless ranting and incessant drumming style “borrowed” from the African Burundi tribe. The results are cheerful if smarmy.

The discographical plot thickens with I Want Candy, released in two distinctly different versions. The American LP is comprised of the Mohicans EP, four tracks from See Jungle! (three of them remixed) and two new cuts. The UK album of the same title makes Your Cassette Pet available on vinyl, except for “Louis Quatorze.” It also includes a few British single sides and the US-only EP, with its re-recorded “Louis Quatorze.” Got that?

Not to be outdone, EMI’s American affiliate issued Twelve Original Recordings. This is essentially the British I Want Candy LP minus several tracks. Pay your money and take your choice."--Trouser Press

Grade: VG+ (Cover/Record)


A1. I Want Candy
A2. Baby, Oh No
A3. Louis Quatorze
A4. Cowboy
A5. Mile High Club


B1. Go Wild In The Country
B2. Jungle Boy
B3. El Boss Dicho
B4. (I'm A) T.V. Savage
B5. King Kong