Belinda Carlisle “Heaven On Earth” CS (1987)
Belinda Carlisle “Heaven On Earth” CS (1987)
Belinda Carlisle “Heaven On Earth” CS (1987)
Belinda Carlisle “Heaven On Earth” CS (1987)
MCA Records

Belinda Carlisle “Heaven On Earth” CS (1987)

Prix régulier $4.00 $0.00 Prix unitaire par

Details: Belinda Carlisle's second studio solo album Heaven On Earth featured the title track hit single, as well as "Circle In the Sand," and "I Get Weak." Released on MCA Records in 1987. White cassette shell with black ink pad-printing. Previously owned cassette in very good plus condition. 

Description: "If Carlisle’s debut solo album was characterized with a tentative uncertainty about its musical direction, the 1987 follow-up was its mirror image. Everything about Heaven On Earth oozes confidence. The album is front-loaded with killer tracks but even lesser cuts mark Carlisle out as a force to be reckoned with.

Near-title track Heaven Is A Place On Earth was an irresistible call to arms and topped the charts in the UK and US. Key to the success of the new album were the songwriting chops of Rick Nowels whose gutsy pop-rockers wrung every last drop of emotion out of Carlisle, who was now making the most of her sexy vibrato. Nowels explained: “Since Belinda was not a writer, it was my responsibility to come up with the songs. I asked my friend Ellen Shipley to fly out from Brooklyn to help me write. In the first week we wrote Heaven… and Circle In The Sand. I was looking for a Go-Go’s beat with an anthemic inspirational lyric.”

Carlisle added: “Rick and Ellen knew I didn’t like lyrics that were too literal, they knew I liked lyrics that were more romantic and poetic.” More than 200 takes were needed to nail Heaven Is A Place On Earth’s master vocal and Nowels also came up with the masterstroke of changing the verses from minor to major key – an 80s anthem was born. Michelle Phillips from The Mamas And The Papas is among the backing vocalists.

The ethereal Circle In The Sand, with an electric sitar chiming away in the background and Thomas Dolby on keyboards, is further proof of this new-found thoroughgoing confidence. Heaven On Earth remains Belinda’s biggest seller of her career; a multi-platinum behemoth. Six singles were culled from the album, the first three – Heaven…, I Get Weak and Circle In The Sand – were Top 10 hits in multiple territories. Belinda had arrived." - Classic Pop Magazine

Grade: VG+ (Cover/Tape)


A1. Heaven Is A Place On Earth
A2. Circle In The Sand
A3. I Feel Free
A4. Should I Let You In?
A5. World Without You


B1. I Get Weak
B2. We Can Change
B3. Fool For Love
B4. Nobody Owns Me
B5. Love Never Dies