Melanie "Leftover Wine" LP (1970)
Melanie "Leftover Wine" LP (1970)
Melanie "Leftover Wine" LP (1970)
Melanie "Leftover Wine" LP (1970)
Melanie "Leftover Wine" LP (1970)
Melanie "Leftover Wine" LP (1970)
Buddah Records

Melanie "Leftover Wine" LP (1970)

Precio habitual $6.00 $0.00 Precio unitario por

Details: Melanie's live album, "Leftover Wine," (live from Margie's Birthday Party) released in 1970 on Buddah Records, gatefold. The gatefold is in very good to very good plus condition--it's worn, but it's still in really nice condition. Album is also super clean--there is a noticeable scratch on the A-side (track 1 and 2) but this does not affect play through. Some pops and clicks are audible, but warm and powerful audience accompanied performance throughout with live banter between tracks. Great LP of selections of her late 60s album tracks from the prominent NY folk singer.

Description: "Leftover Wine is a live album released by Melanie in 1970 on the Buddah label. Production and arrangements were conducted by her then-husband, Peter Schekeryk. 

The concert at Carnegie Hall was the first of Melanie's two appearances in 1970. While Melanie's studio albums typically feature complex arrangements, for the concert Melanie was only accompanied by her acoustic guitar. Melanie performance displays her most diverse and emotionally compelling vocals. In several instances, she redirects the songs directly to her audience and was actively communicating with them to keep them engaged. The performance featured the hits from her previous album, Candles in the Rain and other associated standards like "Momma Momma" and "Happy Birthday". The crowd was ecstatic and as Margie English wrote "She drew strength from them and sang on until she had no more songs. When she rose to leave some of them embraced her, and tears were exchanged". The album is also known as Live: Recorded at Margie's Birthday Party.

The live album was released in September 1970. "Peace Will Come (All According to Plan)" was released as a single earlier in the month. It charted at #32 nationally and the album had similar success when it charted at #33. On February 7, 2007 Leftover Wine was re-released in a double compact disc including her other 1970 album, Candles in the Rain. It was distributed by Edsel Records, and included one bonus track for the live album called "Stop! I Don't Want to Hear it Anymore."

Grade: VG+ (Cover) / VG+ (Record)


A1. Close To It All
A2. Uptown and Down
A3. Momma Momma
A4. The Saddest Thing
A5. Beautiful People
A6. Animal Crackers


B1. I Don't Eat Animals
B2. Happy Birthday (talk)
B3. Happy Birthday (song)
B4. Tuning My Guitar
B5. Psychotherapy
B6. Leftover Wine
B7. Peace Will Come* (According To Plan)