Lesley Gore “Golden Hits Vol. 2” LP (1968)
Lesley Gore “Golden Hits Vol. 2” LP (1968)
Lesley Gore “Golden Hits Vol. 2” LP (1968)
Mercury Records

Lesley Gore “Golden Hits Vol. 2” LP (1968)

Precio habitual $6.00 $0.00 Precio unitario por

Details: Lesley Gore used LP, “Golden Hits Vol. 2,” Mercury (1968). Cover has wear across bottom on front, and only very slight wear on the cover front and opening (there is shelf-wear on this cover on edges). Record is playable, and does skip in spots. Has scuffs and noticeable scratches--VG only. Kick-around record for fun times or 'lazy days'... See images for more.

Description: “LESLEY GORE Golden Hits Vol. 2 (1969 US Mercury label 11-track stereo LP) peerless tales of teen angst, romance, and drama, production by Bob Crewe, pasted colour picture sleeve.”

“Gore signed a contract with Mercury Records with a five-year term that carried her obligations to the company through the spring of 1968. Her last big hit had been 12 months prior to this time, but Mercury still saw promise in her as an artist and believed that one of her singles would make it, as they had in the past. They offered a one-year extension on the initial contract, and Gore was formally contracted to Mercury for a sixth year. During this time, "He Gives Me Love (La La La)", a single release based on a Eurovision Song Contest winner, rose to number 96 on the Music Business charts, while bubbling under the hot 100 in Billboard. Mercury took out a full-page ad in the trades to support the single, but its airplay was spotty, becoming a hit in only a few major markets. She was then paired with the successful soul producers Kenny Gamble, Leon Huff, and Thom Bell for two singles that took her into the "soul" genre: "I'll Be Standing By" and "Take Good Care (Of My Heart)". These songs did not fit the image Mercury had crafted for her, and the singles were not played. Her contract with Mercury ended after the release of "98.6/Lazy Day" and "Wedding Bell Blues" failed to make headway on the charts.

In 1970, she signed with Crewe Records and was reunited with producer Bob Crewe, who had produced her album California Nights.“

Grade: VG (Cover/Record)


A1. California Nights
A2. Off And Running
A3. Love Goes On Forever
A4. Summer And Sandy
A5. I Won't Love You Anymore (Sorry)
A6. My Town, My Guy And Me


B1. He Gives Me Love (La La La)
B2. Young Love
B3. We Know We're In Love
B4. Brink Of Disaster
B5. I Can't Make It Without You