La Luz "Floating Features" CD (2018)
La Luz "Floating Features" CD (2018)
La Luz "Floating Features" CD (2018)
Hardly Art

La Luz "Floating Features" CD (2018)

Precio habitual $14.00 $0.00 Precio unitario por

Details: La Luz' third album, "Floating Features" (Hardly Art, 2018). Their final album with friend and drummer Marian Li Pino who has moved on with other artists. Since this album the band had also relocated as a unit from Seattle to the California. New stock (CD Digipak format), sealed.

Description: "Los Angeles has often been described as a “dream factory”--both a mecca where dreamers converge to pursue long-held aspirations, and a topography of hallucinogenic contradictions: enchanting tangerine sunsets diffused by smog, crystal-clutching spiritualists mingling with deep-pocketed narcissists, rows of scenic palms competing with garish billboards for commuters’ attention.

It was against this backdrop that the four members of La Luz--singer/guitarist Shana Cleve- land, drummer Marian Li Pino, keyboardist Alice Sandahl, and bassist Lena Simon--conceived of Floating Features, the band’s third studio album. For this, their most ambitious release yet, La Luz consulted landscapes both physical and psychological.

References to dreams abound on Floating Features. “Loose Teeth” catalyzes nightmare fuel into a propulsive, intentionally-disorienting collision of honeyed harmonies and Takeshi Terauchi-esque jetstreams of distorted surf guitar. “Mean Dream” unsurprisingly mines dream- state imagery, and the lyrics and melody for “Walking Into the Sun” actually came to Cleveland during a particularly-vivid night of deep sleep. Looming over the album’s coterie of surreal figures (gargantuan cicadas, a monstrous “Creature,” The Sun King, aliens, the titular “Lonely Dozer”) is the magnificent “Greed Machine,” a skulking, insatiable engine of consumption- -Nathanael West’s “business of dreams” fearsomely manifested.

Only La Luz could conjure up Floating Features’ Leone-on-LSD vibes, and the album finds the L.A. band at the height of their powers--golden rebels in a golden dream.

Grade: M (new stock)


1. Floating Features
2. Cicada
3. Loose Teeth
4. Mean Dream
5. California Family
6. The Creature
7. My Golden One
8. Lonely Dozer
9. Greed Machine
10. Walking Into The Sun
11. Don't Leave Me On The Earth