Best Coast “The Only Place” CD (2012)
Best Coast “The Only Place” CD (2012)
Best Coast “The Only Place” CD (2012)
Best Coast “The Only Place” CD (2012)
Mexican Summer

Best Coast “The Only Place” CD (2012)

Precio habitual $5.00 $0.00 Precio unitario por

Details: Plastic circle holders (slip-in cover to case) have caused a bit of a weave effect from being stored improperly at some point, but cover looks fine, otherwise. Media does have light scuffs but has been play-tested and plays-through (no skips). See images.

Description: On May 15, 2012, Best Coast released their highly anticipated new album The Only Place. This follow-up to 2010’s acclaimed Crazy For You finds the proudly Southern Californian duo of Bethany Cosentino and Bobb Bruno maturing in both their sound and perspective. While Crazy For You was a nostalgic tribute to teenage feelings, The Only Place finds front woman Cosentino starting a transition into adulthood. “I’m trying really hard to grow up,” she says. “I’m trying to let go of my bad habits and the immature things I still drag around with me.” Of course this adjusting comes with uncertainty and self-doubt, two feelings at the emotional center of an album that also features a love song to her home state of California in the title track. All encompassed in the memorable album cover, derived from a 1913 sheet music illustration paying homage to the golden state.

As with all of Best Coast’s previous recordings, on The Only Place Cosentino handles all songwriting, lyrics, vocals and rhythm guitar, while multi-instrumentalist Bobb Bruno plays lead guitar, bass and drums. What’s new this time is their decision to work with producer and composer Jon Brion. A revered figure in the music world, Brion has collaborated with artists including Fiona Apple and Kanye West and created the scores for such films as Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Punch-Drunk Love. Recorded at Capitol Records’ famed Studio B, The Only Place features a cleaner and richer sound than other Best Coast releases. Many of the songs’ arrangements are detailed with subtle percussion and unexpected instrumentation. Intricate but never overworked, the biggest change from previous releases is how it showcases Cosentino’s voice, this time letting it ring clear, unhidden by distortion and reverb.

Grade: VG (Cover/CD)


1. The Only Place
2. Why I Cry
3. Last Year 
4. My Life
5. No One Like You
6. How They Want Me To Be
7. Better Girl
8. Do You Love Me Like You Used To
9. Dreaming My Life Away
10. Let’s Go Home
11. Up All Night