The English Beat "Beat This!" CD + Enhanced Promo (2000)
The English Beat "Beat This!" CD + Enhanced Promo (2000)
The English Beat "Beat This!" CD + Enhanced Promo (2000)
The English Beat "Beat This!" CD + Enhanced Promo (2000)
Go Feet/London Records

The English Beat "Beat This!" CD + Enhanced Promo (2000)

Regular price $8.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: The English Beat, "Beat This!" used CD. Best of compilation by The English Beat on Go-Feet, and London Records, released in 2000. Also includes enhanced digital content: "Enhanced CD with 5 bonus videos (Save It For Later, Mirror In The Bathroom, Drowning, Too Nice To Talk To & Doors Of Your Heart), and exclusive online content. Includes a 16-page booklet." Drill in the spine of case for promo.

Description: More on The English Beat: "2 Tone Ska revival group formed in 1978 in Birmingham, England by guitarist/vocalist Dave Wakeling with David Steele (bass) and Andy Cox (guitar) along with rapper/toaster Ranking Roger (Roger Charlery), drummer Everett Morton and veteran Jamaican saxophonist Saxa (Lionel Martin). As there was an eponymous US group emerging at the time they were forced to use the names The English Beat on their American releases and The British Beat briefly in Australia.

The band enjoyed immediate chart success and established their own record label Go-Feet Records. After the split in 1983, Steele and Cox went on to form Fine Young Cannibals and later 2 Men A Drum Machine And A Trumpet while Wakeling, Ranking Roger, and Saxa formed General Public. Saxa and Everett Morton also formed International Beat, with some guest appearances by Ranking Roger who also joined members of The Specials in Special Beat.

Until recently, two different versions of the band toured fairly frequently: "The English Beat starring Dave Wakeling" (a.k.a. The Beat (8), based in California, U.S.A.) and "The Beat with Ranking Roger" (a.k.a. The Beat (6), which also featured Ranking Roger's son Ranking Junior, and was based in the UK.) The latter group ended with the death of Ranking Roger in the Spring of 2019."

Grade: NM (Cover/Case) / M (CD)


1. Mirror In The Bathroom
2. Best Friend
3. Hands Off She's Mine
4. Too Nice To Talk To
5. Doors Of Your Heart
6. I Confess
7. Twist and Crawl
8. Rankin' Full Stop
9. Drowning
10. Save It For Later
11. Sole Salvation
12. Click Click
13. Tears Of A Clown
14. Can't Get Used To Losing You
15. Stand Down Margaret