Tanya Donelly “Lovesongs For Underdogs” CD (1997)
Tanya Donelly “Lovesongs For Underdogs” CD (1997)
Tanya Donelly “Lovesongs For Underdogs” CD (1997)
Tanya Donelly “Lovesongs For Underdogs” CD (1997)
Tanya Donelly “Lovesongs For Underdogs” CD (1997)
Reprise Records

Tanya Donelly “Lovesongs For Underdogs” CD (1997)

Regular price $10.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: Promo-copy (gold stamp visible on cover). Original hype sticker on case. CDs graded on sleeve/media (not on case).

Description: Over ten years and eight albums, the music of Tanya Donelly existed under several different guises. First there was the angular, tense art-rock of Boston, Massachusetts quartet Throwing Muses, who Tanya co-founded with her step-sister Kristin Hersh. She then temporarily moved on to play in Pixies bassist Kim Deal's other band The Breeders, before fronting her own outfit, Belly. For such a fecund project, Belly curiously lasted just two albums. Their 1993 debut Star was an audacious marriage of girl-group classicism, off-kilter guitar-pop and folk-ballad purity confirmed the need to take centre stage. The album entered the UK chart at number two, and Belly concerts became sell-out events. Arriving two years later, King was a more commercial consolidation that Tanya admits was affected by "all the outside influences that come pouring in when you've had a successful record", and by in-fighting. Released in November 1996, Tanya's first solo release was the four-track Sliding And Diving EP. Ten months later came an album, Lovesongs for Underdogs, which was as melodic and moving as all her previous music, but also brimmed with a newfound diversity, confidence and maturity.

Grade: VG+ (Cover) / NM (CD)


1. Pretty Deep
2. The Bright Light
3. Landspeed Song
4. Mysteries Of The Unexplained 
5. Lantern
6. Acrobat
7. Breathe Around You
8. Burn
9. Clipped
10. Goat Girl
11. Manna
12. Swoon