Lene Lovich "Stateless" LP (1979)
Lene Lovich "Stateless" LP (1979)
Lene Lovich "Stateless" LP (1979)
Lene Lovich "Stateless" LP (1979)

Lene Lovich "Stateless" LP (1979)

Regular price $10.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: Conservatively graded used "Stateless" LP by Lene Lovich co-released on Stiff Records and Epic. Clean nm vinyl. Cover is clean, shows light shelf wear/creasing (see images). 

Description: "One of Stiff Records' most stable staples, the truly alternative Lene Lovich laid much of the groundwork for an entire generation of singers left to pick up the pieces in the wasteland of the post-punk era. Her stunning debut, 1979's Stateless, was so unique, so vibrant, and her vocal stylings so unusual that the LP not only put her right at the front of the pack of nascent new wavers, it also sounded a commercial death knell of sorts, relegating her to the realms of novelty acts--at least as far as the mainstream was concerned. But that's not to say that the mainstream wasn't keeping an ear cocked.

Re-recorded from the demo that landed her a deal in the first place, a unique rendering of the bubblegum puff piece "I Think We're Alone Now" provided such propulsion that its B-side, the now-classic "Lucky Number," was itself then re-recorded, to land Lovich a Number Three U.K. hit in early 1979.

Elsewhere, the darkly sinister "Home" played off the rumors concerning Lovich's exotic Eastern European background (she was actually from Detroit, but she could fake a great accent). The piano-led Patti Smith-y "Too Tender (Too Touch)" allowed Lovich to explore a quieter corner, as did a sexy, sensuous rehash of fellow Stiff-er Nick Lowe's "Tonight." The rambunctious squeak of "Say When," on the other hand, not only tempered that mood but also scored Lovich another hit. While Stateless is certainly very much of its era, and well-placed in its time, inspired and adventurous songwriting coupled with a truly pioneering intent ensure that this LP will always remain the lit roadside marker that whispered "this way" to the hundreds of bands who followed."--AllMusic

Grade: VG+ (Cover/Record)


A1. Home
A2. Sleeping Beauty
A3. Lucky Number
A4. Too Tender (To Touch)
A5. Say When


B1. Writing On The Wall
B2. Telepathy
B3. Momentary Breakdown
B4. I Think We're Alone Now
B5. One In A 1,000,000
B6. Tonight