Deerhoof "The Runners Four" Pink and Blue RE 2XLP (2023)
Deerhoof "The Runners Four" Pink and Blue RE 2XLP (2023)
Joyful Noise

Deerhoof "The Runners Four" Pink and Blue RE 2XLP (2023)

Regular price $28.99 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: Deerhoof "The Runners Four" Pink and Blue Re-issue 2XLP (2023, Joyful Noise Recordings). New stock, sealed. Limited edition reissue.

Description: "Available on vinyl for the first time in over 15 years! The Runners Four is Deerhoof's double-LP concept album about friends banding together as honorable outlaws in a corrupt world, deciding what to save in an apocalypse, and passing secret messages of warning and hope from a remade future back to a soon-to-be-destroyed present. Abundant with lyrical allusions to the flood, where cargo hold claustrophobia inside meets a watery chaos outside, it was written and self-produced by Satomi Matsuzaki, John Dieterich, Chris Cohen and Greg Saunier while they holed up in a rented Oakland rehearsal room for the winter months 2004-5. On pink and blue vinyl.

"...a heavy football, a no-half-stepping opus, a defining statement…The Runners Four should occasion a moment to notice how a little band has gotten its scale and balance right: producing strong and inexpensive-sounding records in its own studio, making coverts through frequent touring, changing its sound every six months or so. It's not easy, especially without becoming part of any movement…" - The New York Times

"Deerhoof…has succeeded at something that's very hard to do: It has made records and built a devoted international following on the sheer power of its imagination. And it's a mad, wild imagination..." - The Boston Globe

"Deerhoof has forged yet another delightfully odd pop gem, multifaceted and sparkling with creativity." - Rolling Stone

"Deerhoof…makes the difficult wonderful." - The New Yorker

"At first, The Runners Four is close to incomprehensible. Songs stop as soon as a hook seems to form; rhythms shift and cut like they're running for their lives…but when the mystery lifts and the melodies finally stick—and they do—the album has the undeniable power of complete originality." - TIME

Grade: M (new stock)


A01. Chatterboxes
A02. Twin Killers
A03. Running Thoughts
A04. Vivid Cheek Love Song
A05. O'Malley, Former Underdog
A06. Odyssey 


B07. Wrong Time Capsule
B08. Spirit Ditties Of No Tone
B09. Scream Team
B10. You Can See


C11. Midnight Bicycle Mystery
C12. After Me The Deluge
C13. Siriustar
C14. Lemon & Little Lemon
C15. Lightening Rod, Run


D16. Bone-Dry
D17. News From A Bird
D18. Spy On You
D19. You're Our Two
D20. Rrrrrrright