The Cover Girls, "Show Me" LP (1987). Front cover image. Latin freestyle, R&B, Hip-Hop, dance.
The Cover Girls, "Show Me" LP (1987). Back cover image. Latin freestyle, R&B, Hip-Hop, dance.
Fever Records

The Cover Girls "Show Me" LP (1987)

Regular price $10.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: Great near mint condition album find!

Description: Show Me is the debut album from the New York-based R&B–dance trio The Cover Girls released on independent label Fever Records. The album would produce the group's biggest hit to date "Show Me" as well as other moderately successful singles "Because of You" and the ballad "Promise Me". This would be the only album to feature original member Sunshine Wright, who would depart the group after the unsuccessful release of second single "Spring Love" and would be replaced by Margo Urban for the remainder of the album's singles. The other two members of the original lineup for this album were Angel Mercado and Caroline Jackson. The album peaked at No. 64 on the Billboard Hot 200 on 26 February 1988 and No. 74 on Billboard's Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart on 4 March 1988.”

Alex Henderson of AllMusic writes in his review that, "the Cover Girls made some memorable contributions to Latin freestyle -- in fact, their debut album, Show Me, is among freestyle's most important releases."

Wilson & Alroy's Record Reviews says, "In the main it's upbeat dance music, relying on programmed drums, high-pitched syncopated keyboards, equally high-pitched female vocals, and almost nothing else - at its best, it's pure fun."

Robert Christgau remarks, "Set on pulling a marketable girl group out of a Latin hip hop concept, their svengalis channel the mix toward wall-of-sound, fuzzing beats and harmonies with a nostalgic soupcon of Spectorian grandeur."

Grade: NM (sleeve) / NM (record)


  1. Show Me

  2. Because Of You

  3. That Boy Of Mine

  4. One Night After


  1. Spring Love

  2. Inside Outside

  3. Promise Me

  4. Love Emergency