Buffy Sainte-Marie "I'm Gonna Be A Country Girl Again" (1968)
Buffy Sainte-Marie "I'm Gonna Be A Country Girl Again" (1968)
Buffy Sainte-Marie "I'm Gonna Be A Country Girl Again" (1968)

Buffy Sainte-Marie "I'm Gonna Be A Country Girl Again" (1968)

Regular price $10.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: Used Vanguard amazing condition press of Buffy Saint-Marie's LP, "I'm Gonna Be A Country Girl Again," which she worked with Chet Atkins on. This LP and Illuminations (of the following year) are two of her very best LPs from these years of recordings. "I'm Gonna Be A Country Girl Again," was also dedicated to Chet.

Sainte-Marie was being blacklisted in the US Government in the late 60s and throughout the 70s because of her work as an activist working to further the rights of Native American peoples and was often unable to get airplay (unbeknownst to her or her team until many years later), and so, sadly, a lot of these albums were not given radio play or proper recognition for their genius in production work and songwriting at that time.

"I made four albums in Nashville with [producer] Norbert Putnam that were really, really good, but we couldn’t get them played. It was killing me that we couldn’t get ’em played. Because, you know, we were doing them night after night on stage and people were going crazy for them. It was the early ’70s and I was totally out of the picture by then. It didn’t matter what we put out. My name was dead. I never knew why until the ’80s." - Buffy Sainte-Marie, Acoustic Guitar

Description: From the album back, "This record marks the realization of a dream for Buffy Sainte-Marie--the opportunity of making her first recordings with the Nashville musicians whose music she has loved all her life.  

It began in the most tentative way, as a trial recording of two or three songs, with Buffy playing guitar and mouth-bow, along with a group of the finest instrumentalists in Nashville. But with the first sounds, all the walls came down, and Buffy Sainte-Marie was back home again, playing with friends the kind of music she had always wanted to play.

The first sessions unleashed a flood of creativity in Buffy--an outpouring of new songs which are among the finest she has ever written. They are all here, together with a couple of older country songs which she had long wanted to sing with Nashville accompaniment. Nashville has found a new citizen, and Buffy a new home among her many homes.

"An eerie tremble that crawls up the listener's spine," TIME Magazine
"An artist of vastly impressive achievements." Robert Sherman, NYT
"A poet singer in the stamp of the ancient trouvères." O.B. Brummell, High Fidelity

Grade: VG+ (Cover) / NM (Record)


A1. I'm Gonna Be A Country Girl Again
A2. He's A Pretty Good Man If You Ask Me
A3. Uncle Joe
A4. A Soulful Shade Of Blue
A5. From The Bottom Of My Heart
A6. Sometimes When I Get To Thinkin'


B1. The Piney Wood Hills
B2. Now That Buffalo's Gone
B3. They Gotta Quit Kickin' My Dawg Around
B4. Tall Trees In Georgia
B5. The Love Of A Good Man
B6. Take My Hand For Awhile
B7. Gonna Feel Much Better When You're Gone