B-52's "The B-52's" RE LP (1979)
B-52's "The B-52's" RE LP (1979)
B-52's "The B-52's" RE LP (1979)
B-52's "The B-52's" RE LP (1979)
B-52's "The B-52's" RE LP (1979)
Warner Bros. Records

B-52's "The B-52's" RE LP (1979)

Regular price $29.99 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: Winchester re-pressing of The B-52's eponymous album released in 1979 on Warner Bros. Records. Has original inner sleeve insert. Small split starting near bottom of lyric insert, record is stored outside of lyric inner sleeve in anti-static sleeve. Cover has corner bend and very light ring wear, tiny mark on front near bottom (may be removable)--media looks fantastic.

Description: "As the B-52’s singer and keyboardist Kate Pierson tells it, guitarist Ricky Wilson introduced the riff for “Rock Lobster” by saying, “I’ve just written the stupidest guitar line you’ve ever heard.” Yet another bit of proof that in rock’n’roll, just because you’re being stupid doesn’t mean you aren’t a genius.

This quintet of mostly gay, party-loving, college-town dropouts—which included Wilson’s sister Cindy on percussion and vocals, vocalist Fred Schneider, and drummer Keith Strickland—had plenty of time in Athens, Georgia to put together weird party outfits and draw from Brian Eno’s Oblique Strategies during jam sessions. They absorbed the lean styles of punk and post-punk—a music of provocation, antagonism, anger—and subverted it with color, American postwar iconography, and a gleeful refusal to be anything but who they were. Drawing on the cinematic soundtracks of Morricone and Mancini and the experimentation of Yoko Ono and Captain Beefheart, their 1979 debut, The B-52’s, is a 39-minute transmission from the past, present, and future." - Pitchfork

Grade: VG+/NM (Cover/Record)


A1. Planet Claire
A2. 52 Girls
A3. Dance This Mess Around
A4. Rock Lobster


B1. Lava
B2. There's A Moon In The Sky (Called The Moon)
B3. Hero Worship
B4. 6060-842
B5. Downtown