SQÜRL "Silver Haze" Silver LP (2023)
SQÜRL "Silver Haze" Silver LP (2023)
Sacred Bones Records

SQÜRL "Silver Haze" Silver LP (2023)

Regular price $23.99 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: SQÜRL "Silver Haze" Silver LP (2023, Sacred Bones Records). New stock, sealed.

Description: "SQÜRL was formed by Jim Jarmusch and Carter Logan in 2009 to score Jarmusch's movie The Limits of Control. Over a decade later and with numerous EPs and film scores under their belt, SQÜRL is set to release their very first full-length record. Silver Haze was produced by Randall Dunn, who has also worked with the likes of Sunn O))), Boris, Earth, Zola Jesus, and Marissa Nadler, all of whom are artists that SQÜRL cite as inspirations. The album enlists Charlotte Gainsbourg, Anika, and Mark Ribot as collaborators, resulting in a communal offering that shares an energetic lineage with the New York School of Poets, a school they nod to on the track "John Ashbery Takes a Walk," which features Gainsbourg and turns two early Ashbery poems into an irresistible melodic siren's song. Silver Haze expands on SQÜRL's passion for creating rich textural sounds, finessed by a keen ear for production. The band is known for playing with everything from analog synths to broken radios and pulling inspiration from painters, writers, and birds on the street. Silver Haze is a poetic journey of spoken words, dynamic instrumentals, drone riffs, and distorted effects, one that features tubular bells and a cello in addition to their signature stacks of delay, encircling the listener in a warm oscillation both delicate and devastating."

Grade: M (new stock)


A1. Berlin 87
A2. The End Of The World
A3. Garden Of Glass Flowers
A4. She Don't Wanna Talk About It


B1. Il Deserto Rosso
B2. John Ashbery Takes A Walk
B3. Queen Elizabeth
B4. Silver Haze