Stuart Moxham & The Original Artists "Signal Path"
Stuart Moxham & The Original Artists "Signal Path"
Stuart Moxham & The Original Artists "Signal Path"
Feel Good All Over Records

Stuart Moxham & The Original Artists "Signal Path"

Regular price $10.00 $0.00 Unit price per

Details: Used CD of Stuart Moxham & The Original Artists 1992 low-key pop debut, "Signal Path." This is Young Marble Giants and The Gist's Stuart Moxham's reformed debut album post YMG; it features YMG's Alison Statton (in very arresting vocal performance on "Knives (Always Fall)," as well as a lineup that included Moxham's brother Andrew, and friends Anthony Silvestri, and Chris Ridgeway (the latter two from Moxham's project, The Gist, as well). Folk, pop, jangle-pop, indie-pop.

Description: "After [Young Marble Giants] split up in 1980, Stuart Moxham formed The Gist, whose song 'Love at First Sight' became a hit on the continent when covered by French pop singer Étienne Daho under the title 'Paris, Le Flore'. Following a very severe motorbike accident, Stuart concentrated on home recording, which resulted in the album Embrace the Herd (1982) again on Rough Trade, and his first CD album Signal Path (1992) on the Chicago-based Feel Good All Over label before fans persuaded him to enter the studio again. The result was the album Random Rules (1993) and featured Spike (guitar & viola), younger brother Andrew (drums), and London-based French songwriter Louis Philippe (keys & arrangements). A band was formed to perform Stuart's new material, which gigged, albeit briefly, in France and the UK. Another album, Cars in the Grass, followed. Stuart had also been recording in the USA (the album Fine Tuning and six tracks on the album Barbara Manning Sings With The Original Artists (1993)), where he has acquired a small fanbase. Now based in the West Country, Moxham is still writing songs. A new album, The Huddle House, recorded as a duet with Louis Philippe, with whom he's regularly performed, was released on Wonder Records in May 2007."

Grade: NM (Cover) / NM (CD)


1. Over The Sea
2. Between Edits
3. Her Shoes (Are Right)
4. Knives (Always Fall)
5. Broken Heart Blues
6. It Says Here
7. No One Road
8. That's My Love
9. I Wonder Why
10. Remember
11. It Took You
12. Mutual Gaze